Vernon L. Smith

Vernon L. Smith (USA), studied economics at the University of Kansas and at Harvard and began his teaching career at Purdue University, Stanford University, Arizona State University and George Mason University. Currently he directs the Economic Science Institute at Chapman University in California. In 2002, Vernon Smith was awarded the 2002 Nobel Prize in Economics for his pathbreaking work in behavioral economics, in the fields of property rights and experimental economics. He shared the Prize with Daniel Kahneman. Smith is a founding board member of the Center for Growth and Opportunity at Utah State University and also serves as a board member of George Mason University’s Mercatus Center. Among his countless seminal contributions only his most seminal works can be mentioned here: Experimental Economics: Induced Value Theory (1962), Bargaining and Market Behavior: Essays in Experimental Economics (2000) or Constructivist and Ecological Rationality in Economics’ (2003).

Our Partners

Liechtenstein Academy | private, educational foundation (FL)
Altas Network | economic research foundation (USA)
Austrian Economics Center | Promoting a free, responsible and prosperous society (Austria)
Berlin Manhatten Institute | non-profit Think Tank (Germany) | Buecher fuer den Liberalismus (Germany)
Cato Institute | policy research foundation (USA)
Center for the New Europe | research foundation (Belgium)
Forum Ordnungspolitik
Friedrich Naumann Stiftung
George Mason University
Heartland Institute
Hayek Institut
Hoover Institution
Istituto Bruno Leoni
Institut Václava Klause
Instytut Misesa
IREF | Institute of Economical and Fiscal Research
Johns Hopkins Institute for Applied Economics, Global Health, and the Study of Business Enterprise | an interdivisional Institute between the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences, and the Whiting School of Engineering
Liberales Institut
Liberty Fund
Ludwig von Mises Institute
New York University | Dept. of Economics (USA)
Stockholm Network
Students for Liberty
Swiss Mises Institute
Universidad Francisco Marroquin